In recognition of David Greenslade's outstanding service and interest in the goals of the International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors, the Society established a scholarship in 1977 to bring a British Isles editor to the annual conference. Greenslade, a member of ISWNE for many years and a distinguished British journalist, died Jan. 16, 1977.

Greenslade was president of the Newspaper Society ─ representing all the British provincial newspapers ─ in 1975-76. He was the only person to have held that post and the office of president of the Guild of British Newspaper Editors (in 1967). Greenslade was editorial director of the Nottingham Chronicle Advertiser and Guardian.

His association with ISWNE began in 1960, when he took H.R. Long, the Society's founding father, to lunch at a pub. Long was in Great Britain on a month-long tour of newspapers. Greenslade attended four ISWNE conferences in the United States: three at Pere Marquette State Park in Illinois and one in Carbondale, Ill. At Greenslade's urging, ISWNE members spent three weeks touring England, Scotland and Ireland in the fall of 1976.

Greenslade Bursary Recipients

Year Name Newspaper(s)/Group Location
1977 Drew Cochrane Largs & Millport Weekly News Ayrshire, Scotland
1978 Robin Thompson Shields Weekly News North Shields, England
1979 Terry Kirton Abergavenny Chronicle South Wales
1980 Nicholas Nally The Westmeath Examiner Mullingar, Ireland
1981 Stewart Fairlie Oban Argyll, Scotland
1982 Peter Hills Essex County Standard
1983 Peter Gill Celtic Press Glamorgan, Wales
1984 John Small Southern Reporter Selkirk, Scotland
1985 Andrew Martin Evesham Journal Evesham, Worcestershire, England
1986 Brendan Long Clonmel Nationalist Clonmel, Ireland
1987 Roy Hancock Cambrian News Aberystwyth, Dyfed, Wales
1988 Jeremy Hodges John O Groat Journal & Caithness Courier Caithness, Scotland
1989 Liz Griffin Malvern Gazette Broadbanks, Malvern, Worcestershire, England
1990 David Burke Tuam Herald County Galway, Ireland
1991 Graham Jones Celtic Newspapers South Wales
1992 Alan Rennie Stirling Observer Stirling, Scotland
1993 Lou Cummins Newbury Weekly News Newbury, Berkshire, England
1994 Jane Daly Crosby Herald & Bootle Times Merseyside, England
1995 No selection Conference held in Britian
1996 Paul Symington Down Recorder Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
1997 Recipient did not attend conference
1998 Eugene McGee The Longford Leader Longford, Ireland
1999 Anthony Longden Uxbridge Gazette Uxbridge, Middlesex, England
2000 Peter Long Celtic Newspapers Cardiff, Wales
2001 Bob Satchwell Society of Editors Cambridge, England
2002 Eddie Coffee Nationalist Group Carlow, Ireland
2003 No selection Conference held in Ireland
2004 Julian Calvert Helensburgh Advertiser and Dumbarton & Vale of Leven Reporter Scotland
2005 Jeremy Condliffe Congleton Chronicle Series Congleton, Chesire, England
2006 No selection
2007 Moira Sleight Methodist Recorder London, England
2008 Susan Windram Southern Reporter Selkirk, Scotland
2009 No selection
2010 Doug Mellow Rotherham Advertiser Rotherham, England
2011 No selection Conference held in England
2012 Johnny O'Hanlon Regional Newspapers and Printers of Ireland Cavan, Ireland
2013 Bob Yeates Bairnsdale Advertiser Victoria, Austrailia
2014 Roisin McGroarty Irvine Times Ardrossan, Scotland
2015 No selection
2016 No selection
2017 No selection
2018 Ian Murray Society of Editors Cambridge, U.K.
2019 Andy Murrill Newbury Weekly News Newbury, U.K.
2020 None due to pandemic
2021 None - virtual confernce

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.