The Eugene Cervi Award was established by ISWNE in 1976 to honor the memory of Eugene Cervi of the Rocky Mountain Journal in Denver by recognizing a newspaper editor who has consistently acted in the conviction that "good journalism begets good government."

Eugene Cervi Winners

Year Winner(s) Newspaper/Location
2019 Brian Hunhoff Yankton County Observer, Yankton, South Dakota
2018 Ross Connelly Hardwick Gazette, Hardwick, Vermont
2017 Bill Miller, Sr. Missourian Publishing Company, Missouri
2016 David Sommerlad Country Press New South Wales, Australia
2015 Mike Buffington The Jackson Herald, Jefferson, Geogia
2014 Dave Mitchell Point Reyes Light, Point Reyes Station, Calif.
2013 William F. Schanen III Ozaukee Press, Port Washington, Wisc.
2012 Tim Waltner Freeman Courier, Freeman, South Dakota
2011 Jack Sigvaldason Northern News Services, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
2010 Tom, Pat & Ben Gish Whitesburg, Kentucky
2009 Garrett Ray Fort Collins, Colo.
2008 Burt & Ursula Freireich Litchfield Park, Ariz.
2007 Guy & Marcia Wood Sangre de Cristo Chronicle, Angel Fire, New Mexico
2006 No Award Given
2005 Frank Wood De Pere, Wis.
2004 Frank Garred The Port Townsend Leader, Port Townsend, Wash.
2003 Gary & Helen Sosniecki Lebanon Publishing Co., Lebanon, Missouri
2002 Bill Meyer Hoch Publishing Co., Inc., Marion County (Kan.) Record
2001 Margaret Hennigar Lighthouse Publishing, Bridgewater, Nova Scotia
2000 Al Seiler The Pike Press, Pittsfield, Ill.
1999 No Award Given
1998 Jack Authelet Foxboro (Mass.) Reporter
1997 Carol Wilcox & Cary Stiff Clear Creek Courant, Idaho Springs, Colo.
1996 Charlotte & Melvin Schexnayder Dumas (Ark.) Clarion
1995 No Award Given
1994 Jim MacNeill The Eastern Graphic, Montaque, Prince Edward Island
1993 Bob Bliss The Montgomery City News, Hillsboro, Ill.
1992 Robert Trapp Rio Grande Sun, EspaƱola, N.M.
1991 Henry Gay Shelton-Mason County Journal, Shelton, Wash.
1990 Karl Monroe Collinsville (Ill.) Herald
1989 William Rotch Milford (N.H.) Cabinet
1988 Bruce Brugmann San Francisco Bay Guardian
1987 James Russell Wiggins Ellsworth (Maine) American
1986 Rollin McCommons Athens (Ga.) Observer
1985 McDill (Huck) Boyd Phillips County Review, Phillipsburg, Kan.
1984 Richard McCord Santa Fe (N.M.) Reporter
1983 Homer Marcum The Martin Countian, Inez, Ky.
1982 Kieth Howard Yellow Springs (Ohio) News
1981 Edward DeCourcy Newport (N.H.) Argus Champion
1980 Robert Estabrook Lakeville (Conn.) Journal
1979 Houstoun Waring Littleton (Colo.) Independent
1978 Tom Leathers The Squire, Kansas City, Mo.
1977 Charles & Virginia Russell Dewitt County Observer, Clinton, Ill.
1976 Blair Macy Keene Valley Sun, Kennesburg, Colo